Betwixt us

The gauntlet was thrown.

I looked at her. Really?

This was the battle ground? This was the place?

Well, it could have been worse.

I lower myself to the ground. I am intentional about it. I look at her and raise my eyebrow. An unspoken invitation.

She ahems and lowers herself beside me.

I close my eyes and focus on my breathing. The energy beside me eases and I realize she is doing the same. I don’t know how long we sit there, I lose track. Good. This is working.

Monkey mind has fucked off for the day. This is what I am talking about.

Then the earth around me rumbles. I ignore it. I cant lose this groove, not when I have worked so hard for it.

The energy beside me remains as calm as I am trying to portray.

And then I am in free fall. I don’t know what happened, but as my legs fall from their cross, I open my eyes and stare into hers.

She is 6 inches shorter than me, but we are eye to eye. We look around, and where there once was a yard and grass, here there is nothing.

Her grin devours her face.

“We did it!”

“Yeah, I guess we did… what now?”

“Savor it. Just be.”

Hallucination or not, you cant deny the peace and the power of this place.

So I close my eyes and focus on my breathing.

And the energy beside me does the same.

Leave a comment